Georgia takes intoxicated driving offenses extremely seriously, which can be intimidating for the person facing the charges.

If you have been arrested for or charged with a DUI offense, you may be facing penalties and life changes in the coming days ahead of you. However, you do not have to fight for your rights alone. When you find yourself in these overwhelming circumstances, you need a competent criminal defense attorney on your side. Rather than facing the unknown, a Palmetto DUI lawyer could discuss with you the particulars of your arrest and help you build a defense.

Automatic Driver’s License Suspension After DUI Arrests

After a DUI arrest, the individual’s driver’s license is automatically suspended, and the individual has up to 10 days to request a hearing to stop the suspension. After that arrest, it is common for the charged individuals to forget about the hearing altogether or fail to act because they do not know how to start. In these cases, their driver’s license will remain suspended until the DUI criminal case is complete in criminal court.

The license hearing is entirely separate from the criminal DUI case, which might seem even more overwhelming. However, an experienced attorney could attend the hearing and investigate the DUI criminal case in Palmetto with you to help alleviate the stress.

Statutes Regarding Driving Under the Influence in Palmetto

The Official Code of Georgia Annotated § 40-6-391 prohibits any individual from operating a moving automobile while under the influence of alcohol to the extent that it is legally unsafe for a person to drive. The state also trains police officers to detect drivers for DUI violations, which is initially done by observing the driver’s behaviors.

Other than a license suspension, a DUI arrest could result in up to 12 months in jail and $1000 in fines, requirements to complete drug and alcohol courses, 12 months of probation with drug and alcohol screenings, and more. Penalties for a second and third DUI within 10 years are much harsher.

Second-time offenders face a minimum of 72 hours in jail and a fine of $600, 12 months of probation, 240 hours of community service, substance abuse evaluation, and DUI school. Further, a third arrest is considered an aggravated misdemeanor, and it brings the following:

  • Minimum of 15 days in jail
  • Up to $1000 in fines
  • 12 months of probation
  • Substance abuse evaluations
  • 240 hours of community service

It is at the judge’s discretion to add or reduce any sentencing. Because these charges’ penalties can escalate so drastically, it is crucial to contact a Palmetto lawyer as soon as possible after a DUI arrest to get legal assistance.

Call a Well-Versed Palmetto DUI Attorney Today

Being arrested or charged with a DUI can be a terrifying experience. However, facing the criminal justice system in the weeks that follow can be even more overwhelming—but no initial penalties are absolute. Having an attorney with trial skills, extensive training in the courtroom, and expertise with DUI cases on your side may better your chances of reaching a favorable outcome.

Call a seasoned Palmetto DUI lawyer today to begin strategizing your defense. You do not have to deal with these uncertain times alone. Our firm is standing by to assist you.